---
canonical: https://amplience.com/developers/docs/user-guides/produce-content/revisions/
title: Revision history
  - User guides (classic)
description: In Amplience CMS, when you create or update a content item a new version is created, and the content revision history can viewed from the content form.

audience: Business User
image: https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-01-ng?w=1200&h=630
image_width: 1200
image_height: 630
date_published: 2022-06-23
date_modified: 2026-05-22
---

# Content Revision History

Each time you create or update a content item, a new version is created. Within Amplience CMS you can view its revision history from the content form.

## Viewing content revision history

To view content item revision history, open the content item and then click the history icon (shown below).

![Amplience CMS form with the show or hide history icon highlighted](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-01-ng?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS form with the show or hide history icon highlighted')

The content revision history is displayed, along with the user that made the change and the date and time that the content was updated.

If a change is made to content in the editing form, from editing text to changing an image, a new version is created when the content is saved.

In the example below we have changed the banner's background image and version 6 of the banner is created.

![Amplience CMS revision history showing a newly created revision](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-02-ng?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS revision history showing a newly created revision')

## Finding the latest published revision

The revision history marks the most recently published version with a **Publish status** icon.

Here the publish status icon shows that the most recent version of the content is the published version:

![Amplience CMS revision history showing the latest published version as the most recent version](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-latest-published-1?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS revision history showing the latest published version as the most recent version')

> **Tip:** To understand what each icon represents, see [Publish status icons](https://amplience-developer-portal-git-develop-amplience.vercel.app/developers/docs/user-guides/produce-content/publish/#publish-status).

When changes are made to a published content item, the publish status icon in the revision history updates to identify that an earlier version of the content is published - not the latest version.

![Amplience CMS revision history showing that the published version is not the most recent](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-latest-published-2?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS revision history showing that the published version is not the most recent')

## Tag snapshot to edition in the revision history

One significant user action that does not cause a new version to be generated is tagging a snapshot of a content item to an edition. However, this is recorded for auditing purposes.

In the example below, a snapshot of v6 of the banner has been tagged to an edition at the time specified. While the current version of the banner remains the same, the modification date has been updated and saving to an edition has been included in the revision history.

See [tagging a snapshot to an edition](https://amplience-developer-portal-git-develop-amplience.vercel.app/developers/docs/user-guides/produce-content/update-scheduled/#tagging-a-snapshot-to-an-edition) for more details.

![Amplience CMS revision history highlighting that tag to edition does not generate a new version](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-03-ng?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS revision history highlighting that tag to edition does not generate a new version')

## Viewing and restoring previous revisions

A useful feature of revision history is being able to visualize previous versions of the content. For example, if we select version 2 of the banner content, its background image will be displayed, together with the other fields of the banner as they were saved in that version.

To restore to a previous version of the content, select the version to restore and click "Restore this version".

![Amplience CMS revision history with a previous version selected](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-04-ng?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS revision history with a previous version selected')

In the example below, a completely new version of the content is created and populated with all the fields stored in version 2 of the content, including the background image.

![Amplience CMS revision history showing a new version by restoring a previous version](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-05-ng?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS revision history showing a new version by restoring a previous version')

If you try to restore to a version that was created prior to the item's content type being updated to support hierarchies, you will need to convert the earlier version of the item. See [Converting existing items for use with hierarchies](https://amplience-developer-portal-git-develop-amplience.vercel.app/developers/docs/user-guides/produce-content/hierarchies/#converting-existing-items-for-use-with-hierarchies).
> **Tip:** The most recently published version is marked with the [Publish status](https://amplience-developer-portal-git-develop-amplience.vercel.app/developers/docs/user-guides/produce-content/publish/#publish-status) icon.

## Revision history of linked content

For content items that are linked to other items, such as a carousel that contains a list of carousel slides, only changes to the carousel itself will be recorded in its revision history. If the carousel slides are updated, this would not be reflected in the carousel's revision history since the slides are entirely separate content items.

If we have a carousel and choose to delete one of the slides, as shown in the example below, then this will cause a change in the carousel's revision history, since we are changing the list of slides included in the carousel.

![Amplience CMS showing the revision history of a carousel](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-06-ng?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS showing the revision history of a carousel')

As you can see from the carousel's revision history, deleting a carousel slide has created a new version of the carousel.

![Amplience CMS showing a new version of a carousel after deleting one of its slides](https://cdn.media.amplience.net/i/ampproduct/content-revision-history-07-ng?w=1880&fmt=png 'Amplience CMS showing a new version of a carousel after deleting one of its slides')

However, if you were to edit any of the carousel slides and change the image that they show, this does not change the carousel itself, since it is still linked to the same carousel slides even though their content is different.

## Related pages

[Tag a snapshot to an edition](https://amplience-developer-portal-git-develop-amplience.vercel.app/developers/docs/user-guides/produce-content/update-scheduled/#tagging-a-snapshot-to-an-edition)
